Our Board of Directors


Professor Kristy L. Weber

Professor Weber specialises in the treatment of bone and soft tissue tumours as well as metastatic bone disease. She is the immediate past president of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and was the Academy’s first woman president.

Vice President

Dr Jennifer Green

Dr Green specialises in hand, wrist, and microsurgery. She is IODA’s founding member and is immensely passionate about increasing orthopaedic diversity and inclusion. Dr Green is the immediate past chair of the Australian Orthopaedic Association (AOA) Orthopaedic Women’s Link (OWL) Committee and has been successful in driving diversity change.

Second Vice President

Dr Violet Lupondo

Dr Lupondo is a senior orthopaedic and trauma surgeon in Tanzania. She has been one of the nine women that make up Tanzanian’s orthopaedic surgical community and continues to advocate for female surgeons throughout Sub-Saharan Africa.


Dr Matthew Schmitz

Dr Schmitz is the orthopaedic chair at San Antonio Military Medical Centre – the largest orthopaedics department in the Department of Defence – and the sole paediatric orthopaedic surgeon in the United States Air Force.


Dr Andrew Wines

 Dr Wines specialises in arthroscopic and reconstructive surgery of the foot and ankle in adults and children. Dr Wines is also on Australian Orthopaedic Association (AOA)‘s Board of Directors and chairs the AOA’s Champions of Change Committee. 

Trainee Representative

Dr Simon Fleming

Dr Fleming is a London-based Trauma and Orthopaedic registrar. Dr Fleming is

also the Past Vice Chair of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges Trainee Doctors’ Group, and a Past President of the British Orthopaedic Trainees’ Association.

Regional Representatives

We encourage IODA members to contact their Regional Representative using the member chat function – login required.


Dr Marí Thiart 

Dr Thiart is a paediatric orthopaedic surgeon based in South Africa. Dr Thiart is a founding member of the South African Female Orthopaedic Surgeons' Society and an active member of Women in Orthopaedics Worldwide.

Asia Pacific

Professor Margaret Fok

Professor Fok is Honorary Clinical Assistant Professor at The University of Hong Kong, with numerous publications on hand, wrist, and elbow conditions.


Miss Caroline Hing

Miss Hing is a trauma and specialist knee surgeon with an interest in patellar instability. Miss Hing is editor in chief of the journal ‘The Knee’ and is the co-lead for the South London CRN musculoskeletal division. Caroline is an active member of British Orthopaedic Association and is on several BOA Committees. 

Middle East

Associate Professor Dr Dalal Bubshait

Dr Bubshait is a paediatric orthopaedic consultant in Saudi Arabia. Dr Bubshait is well published, and a member of the Saudi Orthopaedic Association, American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the International Musculoskeletal Society

North America

Anthony 'AJ' Johnson, M.D. 

Dr. Johnson is the orthopaedic surgery residency program director for  Dell Medical School, and the orthopaedic sports medicine clinical director at UT Health Austin’s Musculoskeletal Institute. Dr Johnson is also the Chair of the AAOS Diversity Advisory Board and a leader at Nth Dimension.

Latin America

Dr Claudia Arias

Dr Arias is an orthopaedic surgeon, specialising in knee surgery. Dr Arias wrote for the The International Society of Arthroscopy, Knee Surgery and Orthopaedic Sports Medicine blog on her experience in orthopaedics in a post entitled “Diversity – Life as a Latina Orthopaedic Surgeon.”





Contact your Regional Representative using the member chat function.